adventures in unschooling

Messy Party

paris-turns-two.jpg

This was tons of fun and I strongly recommend it for anyone with 18 months – 4 year olds. I got 20kg of flour and poured it on a large tarp in the back yard. I put out lots of bowls, sivs & measuring spoons. We had a big bowl of cornstarch and a jug of water for making oobleck. I also filled big bucketswith homemade finger paint & hung paper up on the fence. We had the wading pool for washing of in.

What surprised me the most was how seriously the kids took everything. The just didn’t throw things around for fun as I expected. They used the tools for mixing & measuring, and worked very hard at their cooking. They were busy for hours.

june_30_07-092.jpg

Leave a Reply

