adventures in unschooling

The Drive to Learn

Paris’s drive to learn is such an integral part of his personality, I can’t imagine it fading as he gets older or ever having to force him to learn anything. He has a strong desire to be big and capable.

Paris brings the phrase “I DO IT!” to a whole new level. It’s not enough for him to dress himself & feed himself. He wants to cook dinner, wash the dishes, do the laundry and take the garbage out too. Of course he wants to open and shut all gates and car doors and press all the elevator buttons. He not only wants to do things himself he want to do everything I’m doing. If I’m writing, he wants my pen and he wants my paper, and he will try to wrestle it out of my hand. I try to include him but that’s not really what he’s after.

I had to ask Tyler how it felt to have a another man in the house after Paris demanded the “REMOTE!” after we had turned on the TV. All the way to Grandma’s house last night he cried and screamed, “Stop!Stop! I drive car!” This kid isn’t satisfied with being in the passenger seat and I don’t imagine he ever will be.

2 responses

  1. That post made me laugh out loud.

    I met you last fall in Vancouver at Nicole’s craft get-together. We’ve moved back to Toronto and I really miss the Vancouver hs community. It is not at all like that here- lots of religious and/or suburban folks, of which we are neither.

    I’m enjoying your blog- loved the Bionicle learning post. The other day I really watched my 3 year old putting together a “guy” and I was astounded at how complicated it was and how well he could do it. Also Cassius’ birthday party looked great!

    Peace- Sarah

    May 30, 2008 at 3:20 am

  2. jascairo

    Hi Sarah!

    It’s nice to hear from you. I’m glad that you are enjoying my blog. I’m always surprised that people actually read it.

    I’m sorry to hear that you haven’t found a Hs community out in Toronto that fits. I find even knowing one or two moms that have a similar style (and whose kids get along with your kids) makes all the difference in the world.

    I’ll have to check out Lee’s blog and see if he’s made any more cool movies.

    take care
    jasmine

    May 30, 2008 at 5:17 am

Leave a Reply

